Madushanka Mendis: The Ambidextrous Bowling Sensation
Madushanka Mendis, a Sri Lankan cricketer, recently captivated audiences with his unusual ability to bowl with both left and right arms during a match. This rare skill, coupled with a crucial wicket, has sparked considerable discussion within the cricket world.
The Performance Against KKR
During the 13th over of the innings against the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Mendis bowled three balls with left-arm spin and three with offspin. His deliveries consistently landed on a good length, effectively limiting scoring opportunities for the batters. The pivotal moment arrived with the fourth ball, when Mendis dismissed Angkrish Raghuvanshi (50 off 32 balls) thanks to an exceptional catch by Harshal Patel.
A History of Ambidextrous Bowling
Mendis's ability isn't entirely new. He demonstrated similar skills during the 2016 Under-19 World Cup and has previously bowled with both arms in the same over in T20Is against India, targeting Suryakumar Yadav and Rishabh Pant.
Legalities and Umpire Discretion
While switching arms during an over is permissible under cricket rules, the umpire has the authority to potentially make the process more challenging by requiring the bowler to declare the arm switch before each delivery. Mendis appeared to navigate this without issue, seemingly adopting a pragmatic approach by bowling left-arm to right-hand batters and vice versa.
Historical Context: Precedents in Ambidextrous Bowling
Mendis's feat is part of a small historical lineage of ambidextrous bowlers.
- Hashan Tillakaratne: Bowled ambidextrously against Kenya in the 1996 World Cup.
- Hanif Mohammad: Pakistan's part-time offspinner bowled left-arm spin against West Indies during Gary Sobers’ record-breaking 365-run Test innings.
KKR's Past Interest in Ambidextrous Bowlers
Ironically, Mendis displayed his talent against a KKR team that, in 2009, proactively sought out ambidextrous bowlers during their selection process, identifying both a spinner and a fast bowler from a pool of 45 potential candidates. John Buchanan, KKR's innovative coach at the time, spearheaded this initiative.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Q: Is it legal to bowl with both arms in cricket?
A: Yes, it is legal. There's no rule preventing a bowler from switching arms during an over.
Q: Can an umpire interfere with a bowler switching arms?
A: An umpire can, within their discretion, insist on the bowler declaring the arm switch before each delivery, potentially adding a slight delay and complexity to the process.
Q: How common is ambidextrous bowling in cricket?
A: It's exceptionally rare. Madushanka Mendis is one of only a few international cricketers to have demonstrated this ability in a match.**